Classroom Impact Grants

DCEF Names Classroom Impact Grant Recipients
Posted on 08/11/2023
The Douglas County Education Foundation (DCEF) announced 42 Classroom Impact Grants to Douglas County School System (DCSS) teachers totaling $30,906.06 in July.

"On behalf of DCEF, we send a special thank you to every applicant that started and completed a Classroom Impact Grant application," said Angelia O'Neal, DCEF Executive Director. "We look forward to seeing the positive impact that these grants will have in each classroom."

The Grants are provided by the Foundation to promote creative and innovative ideas inside and outside the classroom that directly impact student learning. Grants often fund programs, projects, equipment and enrichment opportunities that would not be available through state funds alone.

To receive a Grant, teachers, media specialists, counselors, principals and assistant principals throughout the Douglas County School System submit applications, and Grants are awarded on a competitive basis to the top applicants. 

Over the last 15 years, more than $217,000 have been awarded in Classroom Impact Grants to serve thousands of students at all grade levels throughout DCSS. 

Congratulations to this year's Classroom Impact Grant recipients, listed below.

Elementary School
Erika Ruth - Arbor Station Elementary School
Ione Stover - Arbor Station Elementary School
Elizabeth Story - Beulah Elementary School
Aletheia Leavitt - Bill Arp Elementary School
Karen Gorzynski - Bill Arp Elementary School
Elizabeth Shadix - Bright Star Elementary School
Chevette Carter - Burnett Elementary School
K'Asha Davis - Chapel Hill Elementary School
Melissa Wages - Chapel Hill Elementary School
Cameron Sheldon - Chapel Hill Elementary School
Carollynn McMahan - Dorsett Shoals Elementary School
Greta Shipman - Factory Shoals Elementary School
Morgan Newson - Factory Shoals Elementary School
Tina Birdsong - Holly Springs Elementary School
Katie Winslett - Holly Springs Elementary School
Janet Blair - Lithia Springs Elementary School
Crystal Evans - Mason Creek Elementary School
Mandi Slatton - Mason Creek Elementary School
Ana Ingram - Mirror Lake Elementary School
Shanta Williams - New Manchester Elementary School
Nigil Smith - New Manchester Elementary School
Erica Witherspoon - North Douglas Elementary School
Thomas Bruno - South Douglas Elementary School
Jenny Woods - South Douglas Elementary School
Terezie Rice - South Douglas Elementary School
Niamba Johnson - Sweetwater Elementary School
Aubrey Lee - Winston Elementary School
Amber Harrison - Winston Elementary School
Jamie Boemer - Winston Elementary School

Middle School
Alicia Boyard - Turner Middle School
Kasey Haynes - Chapel Hill Middle School
Kelli Crowe - Mason Creek Middle School
Pamela Kingston - Mason Creek Middle School / LEAP
Michelle Hester - Chestnut Log Middle School
Sandy Richardson - Fairplay Middle School

High School
Amanda Backus - Alexander High School
David Brown - The Haven Academy at Alexander High School
Kenya Taylor - Chapel Hill High School
Rhiannon Sims - Chapel Hill High School
Shelly Mitchell - Lithia Springs High School
Teresa Wellmaker - Douglas County High School
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.