DCSS Science Fair Winners

DCSS Names District Science and Engineering Fair Winners
Posted on 01/20/2023
Several students from throughout the Douglas County School System received recognition for their projects in the Douglas County Science and Engineering Fair on January 13 during a virtual ceremony. 

During the ceremony, awards for first, second and third place were given to go along with other special awards and a Best in Show recognition for middle and high school students. 

“Congratulations to each and every student who participated in the District Science and Engineering Fair,” said DCSS Superintendent Trent North. “I’m incredibly proud of all the work that you’ve put in, and I’m excited to know that students like you will be representing us at the regional level and leading our future in Douglas County.”

Overall, the fair’s Top Performance Awards went to Yahminisakti Chandrasekaran of Fairplay Middle School and Elijah Lewis of Lithia Springs High School. Chandrasekaran and Lewis also took home Best in Show Awards for middle and high school in the Scientific Method category.

Middle school Best in Show Award recipients also included Sophia Yang (CHMS) in the Computer Science category and Naomi Wood (MCMS) in Engineering. For high school, Ayomide and Oluwafemi Balogun (LSHS) earned the award for their project in the Computer Science division, while Jonathan Ridley and Mayowa Aduwemi (LSHS) took the Best in Show Award for Engineering.

“We are so proud of all of our students for their hard work, intentionality, and perseverance in the Science Fair,” said Marissa Prather, DCSS’ Director of STEM and Fine Arts. “All of the students did a stellar job showcasing their scientific prowess and investigative skills.”

These students, along with other first-place winners, will advance to the West Georgia Regional Science Fair at the University of West Georgia on February 3, 2023. The top exhibits here will advance to the Georgia Science and Engineering Fair in Athens in March. 

First-place winners for middle school include:

Yahminisakti Chandrasekaran - Fairplay Middle School

Anaya Mathurin - Mason Creek Middle School

Mason Palmer - Turner Middle School

Sophia Yang - Chapel Hill Middle School

Naomi Wood - Mason Creek Middle School

First-place winners for high school include:

Elijah Lewis - Lithia Springs High School

Claire Riggs - Douglas County High School

Ayomide Balogun & Oluwafemi Balogun - Lithia Springs High School 

Jonathan Ridley & Mayowa Adewumi - Lithia Springs High School 

Second-place winners for middle school include:

Emma Slatton - Mason Creek Middle School

Madison Smith - Chapel Hill Middle School

Carter Erickson - Fairplay Middle School

Levi Vargas - Yeager Middle School

Third-place winners for middle school include:

Giselle Bautista-Funes - Yeager Middle School

Henry Hank Stephens - Chapel Hill Middle School

Stephanie Trejo & Taylin Bennett - Yeager Middle School

Third-place winners for high school include:

Om Patel & Jazmine Trowers - Lithia Springs High School
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.