2022 REACH Scholars

Five REACH Scholars Celebrated During Signing Ceremony
Posted on 12/19/2022
During a Statewide REACH Signing Event, Douglas County School System welcomed five students to the Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen (REACH) Georgia program, a needs-based scholarship designed to promote academic success and expand access to higher education.

The program’s mission is to increase the academic persistence and achievement of Georgia’s academically promising middle and high school students and increase college access and success.

Aubrey Capers of Chestnut Log Middle, Liliana Hilario-Olguin of Chapel Hill Middle, Abel Perez of Factory Shoals Middle, Bryson McCoy of Mason Creek Middle and Denny Trejo-Balderas of Yeager Middle School all signed contracts committing to the scholarship program.  

Mitzi Teal, Executive Director of Communities In Schools of Douglas County, coordinates the REACH program for the school system. She stated, “As a part of the program, the students signed contracts to maintain a certain grade point average, remain crime, drug, and behavior issues free, and meet with a volunteer mentor until they graduate high school. Their parents or guardians also signed contracts to support their students through their education. When these scholars graduate from high school, they will receive up to a $10,000 scholarship — $2,500 each year for up to four years — to be used at a HOPE-eligible Georgia two or four-year college. Many colleges match this scholarship, and some double match it, providing scholars additional resources for their college education.” 

REACH became Georgia’s first public-private needs-based scholarship opportunity. It is locally owned and operated, allowing community members to have a stake in student success. Community members supporting REACH Scholars ensure students maintain their grades, attendance, and behavior and have the college and career support and preparation they need. 100% of funds raised go to college scholarships.

For more information about Douglas County’s REACH program, please contact Mitzi Teal, Executive Director of Communities In Schools of Douglas County, at 770-651-2039.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.