2021 Howard Thompson Award

DCHS' Myles Oliver Wins Howard Thompson Award
Posted on 01/20/2022
For the fourth time in five years, a Douglas County High player has claimed Douglas County’s highest football honor. Myles Oliver was honored Tuesday with the Howard Thompson Football Award.

The trophy has been awarded annually since 1985 to a senior in honor of the man credited with bringing football to Douglas County. To qualify for the award, the honoree must be a senior in good academic standing, be a superior athlete and possess outstanding character and leadership abilities.

Myles is a defensive back for the Douglas County Tigers. The senior had 75 tackles this past season with five interceptions and returned one for a touchdown. He was also a backup running back and quarterback for the Tigers, who advanced to the second round of the Class 6A playoffs. Myles also excels academically with a 3.45 grade-point average. In 2017, his cousin Braelen Oliver won the same award. Braelen is currently a linebacker at the University of Minnesota.

The Howard Thompson award is voted on by each school’s head football coach, the Douglas County School System’s Athletic Director, and Douglas County Sentinel Sports Editor, Derrick Mahone.

The Howard Thompson winners for the remaining schools are Nehemiah Dukes, Alexander High School, Davion Leslie, Lithia Springs High School, DeAndre Jones, New Manchester High School, and Komari Frye, Chapel Hill High School.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.