New Principals 2020=2021

DCSS Announces New Principals, Other Personnel Changes
Posted on 03/23/2020

Douglas County School System Superintendent Trent North is proud to announce the appointment of four new principals for schools in Douglas County. In addition, three current principals have been appointed to new schools, and other district positions have been announced for the 2020-2021 school year.

“I feel confident that these new principals are each uniquely suited for their new schools,” said Superintendent North. “They already have a track record of success, and I expect them to take their schools to new levels in academic achievement.”

Darien Carruth, Bill Arp Elementary

Darien CarruthMr. Carruth is currently in his 25th year with the Douglas County School System, including 18 years as a classroom teacher, five years as an instructional technology specialist for the district and two years as assistant principal at Mason Creek Middle School

Selected as Teacher of the Year by his peers at both Mason Creek Elementary and Winston Elementary, Mr. Carruth was named a semifinalist for Douglas County Teacher of the Year during both competitions. Mr. Carruth holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree from Georgia Southern University.

He will replace Alesia Stanley, who is retiring effective May 31.

Travis Joshua, Lithia Springs High School

JoshuaMr. Joshua will be new to Lithia Springs High School, but he is not new to the position of principal. He comes from the Cobb County School District where he currently serves as principal of Lindley Middle School. He also served four years as principal of Pebblebrook High School, also in Cobb County, and three years as principal of the Lindley Sixth Grade Academy.

Under his leadership, Lindley Middle School was named a Title I Reward School for High Progress for two consecutive years, and scores in six of seven EOC courses increased by double digits over a three-year period during his tenure at Pebblebrook High School.

Mr. Joshua holds a bachelor's degree and a master's degree from Clark Atlanta University and a specialist degree from Georgia State University.

Leigh Sheffield, Mirror Lake Elementary

sheffieldMs. Sheffield has served as an elementary assistant principal in Douglas County since 2015, most recently at Mt. Carmel Elementary. Ms. Sheffield started her career in Douglas County as a 2nd grade teacher at North Douglas Elementary and then moved to Chapel Hill Elementary as a 4th and 5th grade lead teacher and co-director of the After School Program. In 2015 she was named assistant principal at Eastside Elementary for three years before moving to Mt. Carmel.

Ms. Sheffield holds a bachelor's degree and master's degree from the University of West Georgia and a specialist degree from Berry College.

Catherine Westbrook, Chapel Hill Middle School

westbrookMs. Westbrook started her career as a business education instructor at Douglas County High School in 2000. She then worked as the work based learning coordinator at Douglas County High School and New Manchester High School and was also CTAE supervisor at New Manchester. Since 2015, she has served as assistant principal of curriculum and instruction at New Manchester, where she is in charge of the master school schedule, 12th grade discipline and CTAE.

Ms. Westbrook holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Georgia, a master's degree from the University of Phoenix and a specialist degree from Nova Southeastern University.

Ms. Westbrook will replace Dr. Jolene Morris, who previously announced her retirement.

Other Appointments

In addition to the new principal assignments, three principals will be moving to new schools. Albert Lindsey, principal of Lithia Springs High School, will move to Sweetwater Elementary as principal.

Dr. Emily Felton, current principal at Sweetwater Elementary, will move to Arbor Station Elementary as principal.

Current Performance Learning Center (PLC) Principal Caroline Whitt will move to Chestnut Log Middle School as principal.

Nicole Hayes, current principal of Chestnut Log Middle, will serve as the coordinator of the middle and high school AVID program for the district.

Current Arbor Station Elementary Principal Melissa Joe has taken a position as coordinator of the elementary AVID program for the district.

Chandell Johnson, principal of Mirror Lake Elementary, will serve the district as human resources coordinator.

In addition, William Marchant, current principal of Lithia Springs Elementary, will move to a new position serving the district as assessment coordinator. A new principal for Lithia Springs Elementary has not been named at this time.




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.