Six New Principals to Lead Douglas County Schools

Douglas County School System Taps Six New Principals for 2019-20 School Year
Posted on 04/17/2019

The Douglas County School System is excited to announce the appointments of  six school administrators. Burnett Elementary, Yeager Middle, Beulah Elementary, Winston Elementary, Factory Shoals Elementary and Chapel Hill Elementary schools are among the schools welcoming new leaders for the 2019-20 school year.


“All six of these educators bring a wealth of knowledge, expertise, and education to their individual schools,” says Superintendent Trent North. “Because of their strong roles inspiring and leading students, we are proud to promote these exemplary educators,” says Superintendent Trent North.


The new leaders and their schools are:

Marketa CroomMarketa Croom has been named as Principal of Burnett Elementary School. Marketa formerly served as Assistant Principal at Burnett and Beulah Elementary Schools. Croom earned an undergraduate degree from the University of West Georgia and a Master’s from Central Michigan University. Croom has a Specialist Degree from Capella University and is currently pursuing her Doctorate in  Education.


Principal Jaslyn Dukes
Jaslyn Dukes
has been named as Principal of Yeager Middle School. Dukes previously served as a reading teacher at Stewart Middle School, and later Assistant Principal and Guidance Counselor at Turner Middle School. A graduate of  Grambling State University, Dukes completed post-graduate studies at Clark Atlanta University, University of West Alabama, Cambridge College and Mercer University. She is nearing completion on her Ph.D. Dukes was a Georgia State Teacher of the Year Finalist in 2013,  Douglas County Teacher of the Year in 2011 and the Emma Legare Jordan Middle School Counselor of the Year in 2017.

Principal Lisa Golden

Lisa Golden has been named Principal of Beulah Elementary School. Golden previously served at Lithia Springs Elementary as Assistant Principal. Golden also served as Assistant Principal and Instructional Lead Teacher at Bright Star Elementary School. Prior to Bright Star Elementary, she worked as Media Specialist at Bill Arp, Mt. Carmel, and Burnett Elementary Schools. Golden has the honor of being a Sallie Mae First Year Teacher of the Year, Douglas County Media Specialist of the Year and 2008 Douglas County Teacher of the Year Finalist.

Principal Chelsie Goodman

Chelsie Goodman has been named Principal of Winston Elementary School. Goodman previously served for five years as Assistant Principal of Holly Springs Elementary School. Goodman has also served the district as K-12 Social Studies School Improvement Specialist and Social Studies Instructional Coach. Goodman holds undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of Arkansas, and an Education Specialist degree from Kennesaw State University.
Principal LaTonya Jones

Latonya Jones will be the new Principal of Chapel Hill Elementary School. Jones previously served as Principal in Carroll County. Jones holds an undergraduate degree from Georgia State University and a graduate degree from the University of Phoenix. Jones also holds an Educational Leadership Specialist Degree from Kennesaw State University.
Principal Kenja Parks

Kenja Parks will be the new Principal at Factory Shoals Elementary School. Parks previously served 11 years as Assistant Principal at Alexander High School. Parks holds an undergraduate degree from Dillard University and a master’s degree from the State University of New York.  She also holds Education Specialist degrees from Jacksonville State University and Lincoln Memorial University.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.