skip to main content
District Links


ELA Georgia Standards of Excellence

What are the ELA Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE)?

The ELA GSE are a set of standards for English Language Arts that were developed to ensure that every student graduates high school prepared for college or the workforce.  The standards are designed to set clear expectations of what students should know, understand and do at each grade level.  


ELA Georgia Standards of Excellence



Where can I read the standards for my child's grade level?

Elementary School GSE

Middle School GSE

High School GSE


What is taught throuhgout the school year?

Click on the links below to view the ELA curriculum map for each grade:


What does my child need to know for the Georgia Milestones?


In ELA, students are tested in grades 3-9 and for American Literature (usually grade 11).  Click below for more information about the Georgia Milestones Assessment System.


GA Milestones Logo



Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES