skip to main content
District Links


Fee-Based After School Programs

All elementary schools offer non-academic after school care for $8 per day

Related Documents:
ASP Registration Application 17-18
ASP Parent Information Letter 17-18

The Fee-Based After School Program sponsored by the Douglas County School System is designed to provide adult supervision, in a group setting, to students whose parents work outside the home after school hours. The After School Program does not provide educational services to students and is not intended to be an educational program. Rather, group activities in which students will participate include things such as movement, homework, computer games and story time. All of the after school programs in the Douglas County School System are registered with Bright from the Start, a department of the Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning. The school system programs are exempt from licensure and letters of exemption are posted in the school office.


The mission of the Douglas County School System After School Program (ASP) is to provide a safe, relaxed, and enjoyable environment for its students. The ASP provides enrichment activities, social interaction with peers, and homework help in a well-supervised, structured setting. 

After School Hours

The ASP is open from 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. We are closed on holidays, 1/2 early release and summer break. We ask that parents or guardians please pick up their children no later than 6:00 p.m. Programs do charge a late pick up fee of $1.00 per minute, per family after 6:00 p.m.

Program Length

All fee-based after school program sites plan to start their ASP on the first day of school. The ASP concludes during the last week of the school year and follow the school system calendar. 

Discipline Procedures

The After School Program follows the discipline policies of the Douglas County School System.  Each school will establish specific discipline guidelines at their school site. Students may be temporarily or permanently removed from the ASP depending upon the offense.

Program Fees

AFTER SCHOOL: 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

  • $10.00 registration fee per family
  • $8.00 per day, per child (regardless of amount of time in the program).  We are considered a pre-paid program and ask parents to please provide payment a week or more in advance of the child(ren) staying.  Payments may be placed in the ASP payment box located at or in the school office, as well as in the ASP pick up location identified for each school.  
  • There is a $10.00 late fee applied to outstanding balances. 


As funds are available, partial scholarships for the ASP may be available to students based upon need. Please see your school after school program director for an application. All families must pay the $10.00 registration fee regardless of financial status. Applications must be submitted annually and do not carry over to the next school year. 

Schedule of Activities

Students will receive a nutritious snack each day before starting on their homework. Instructors work with students to complete daily assignments, assigned homework and other projects. Activities may include: cultural activities, enrichment projects, violence prevention programs, drug awareness activities, community service projects, and technology exposure. Eligible students with disabilities who enroll in the After School Program will be provided reasonable accommodations and/or modifications in order to afford them meaningful access to the program.  Accommodations are considered reasonable where the provision of them would not result in a fundamental alteration of the program or the services offered by the program or create an undue financial or administrative burden. The After School Program does not provide educational services to students and is not intended to be an educational program. 

2017-2018 Fee-Based After School Program Sites

Annette Winn Elementary
Arbor Station Elementary
Beulah Elementary
Bill Arp Elementary
Bright Star Elementary
Burnett Elementary
Chapel Hill Elementary
Dorsett Shoals Elementary
Eastside Elementary
Factory Shoals Elementary
Holly Springs Elementary
Lithia Springs Elementary
Mason Creek Elementary
Mirror Lake Elementary
Mt. Carmel Elementary
New Manchester Elementary
North Douglas Elementary
South Douglas Elementary
Sweetwater Elementary
Winston Elementary 

The Douglas County School System After School Program is made possible through the generous support of student tuition, and grants from United Way of Metro Atlanta, Communities In Schools of Douglas County, Inc. and Communities In Schools of Georgia.


District Contact Information

Mitzi W. Teal, Executive Director of Communities In Schools of Douglas County, Inc.


Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES