Douglas County BOE Finalist for Governance Team of Year

Douglas County Board of Education Finalist for Governance Team of the Year Award
Posted on 06/15/2024
DCSS Board of Education

The Douglas County Board of Education and Superintendent Trent North have been honored as a finalist for the Georgia School Boards Association’s (GSBA) Governance Team of the Year Award. This prestigious award recognizes Georgia’s top board/superintendent teams that demonstrate an exceptional commitment to maximizing student achievement and enhancing trust and support for public education in their community.

To be eligible for this award, school systems must have been awarded GSBA Exemplary Board status in the two years leading up to the application. The Douglas County School System was selected as a finalist in the large school system category, which includes those with 10,000 or more students. 

Board Chair Tracy Rookard expressed gratitude for the recognition, attributing it to the hard work and dedication of the entire school community, including administrators, teachers, support staff, students, and families. “Our dedicated Board members work alongside our superintendent to ensure that every Douglas County student has access to a high-quality education that prepares them for success in college, career, and life. Being named a finalist for this award inspires us to continue striving for excellence in everything we do.”

Superintendent Trent North echoed these sentiments: “Our mission is to serve our community with excellence. This achievement further reflects the strong partnership we’ve built between our Board, our school system leadership, and our school community. Together, we remain dedicated to serving our community with excellence by creating an environment where every student can thrive and reach their full potential.”

The rigorous application process for the Governance Team of the Year Award included a detailed submission showcasing the school system’s work across several domains. These areas include Governance Structure, Strategic Planning, Board and Community Relations, Policy Development, Board Meetings, Personnel, Financial Governance, and Ethics. Applications were reviewed and judged by a panel of experts from various leadership roles in public education.

The Board of Education members include Tracy Rookard, District III, Chair; D.T. Jackson, District II, Vice-Chair; Ruth Morgan, District I; Michelle Simmons, District IV; and Glenn Easterwood, District V. 

All Governance Team of the Year finalists were recognized at the GSBA/GSSA Annual Conference in Savannah this month. The Douglas County School System remains committed to providing an exceptional educational experience for all students and looks forward to continuing its work maximizing student achievement and success.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.