skip to main content
District Links


2016-2017 Emma Lagare Jordan Counselors of the Year Named back button

 Mr. Cedric Slay with Sweetwater Principal Dr. Teresa Martin and Assistant Principal Dr. Emily Felton
Mr. Cedric Slay with Sweetwater Principal Dr. Teresa Martin and Assistant Principal Dr. Emily Felton
View more pictures

The Counselors of the Year for the Douglas County School System were named on March 28. For the first time, the Counselor of the Year award was named in memory of Emma Lagare Jordan, a beloved counselor in the school system for many years. The award is sponsored by the late Mrs. Jordan’s parents, Dr. Mary Sue Murray and Mr. Ed Murray, longtime supporters of the school system.

The 2016-2017 Elementary Counselor of the Year is Cedric Slay from Sweetwater Elementary. Mr. Slay has 19 years of experience in education with 10 of those years in counseling. He is most proud of the family events such as Donuts for Dad that he spearheads at Sweetwater to encourage parent engagement.

The 2016-2017 Middle School Counselor of the Year is Jaslyn Dukes from Turner Middle School. Ms. Dukes coordinates Career Day at Turner each year with the participation of over 100 businesses and organizations. This event motivates students to explore careers and to connect what they are learning in class to a future career path.

The 2016-2017 High School Counselor of the Year is Pamela Cummings from New Manchester High School. After noticing that she was not well acquainted with the counselors from New Manchester’s feeder schools, Ms. Cummings organized a “meet and greet” event for the counselors to share concerns and strategize on ways to support each other. This interaction has resulted in many collaborative events for New Manchester High School and the students and staff at the elementary and middle schools that feed into New Manchester.

Each year the school system recognizes an outstanding counselor at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Counselors are nominated by teachers, administrators, and staff from across the district. The finalists then submit an application package including letters of recommendation and written responses to questions. Judges evaluate the applications according to a rubric.

Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES