skip to main content
District Links


2015-2016 Teachers of the Year Announced back button

News Image

A teacher from each of Douglas County’s 33 schools and the Douglas County Performance Learning Center has been selected to be honored as their school’s 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year. Each school selected a teacher to honor who is extremely dedicated, knowledgeable, and planning to continue in active teaching status in Douglas County. This is the first year that the Douglas County Performance Learning Center is participating in TOTY. A workshop to help school candidates move forward to potentially become the District Teacher of the Year was held on May 26 in Citizens’ Hall at the Douglas County Courthouse. Superintendent Dr. Gordon Pritz gave a congratulatory message to welcome the Teachers of the Year.

Each teacher’s county level application will be read and scored by a selection committee. The top eight candidates (two each from the middle and high school level and four from the elementary school level) will become semifinalists and be observed teaching in their classrooms. The selection committee will interview the eight candidates and name a finalist for each area – Elementary, Middle and High School Teacher of the Year – as well as the overall Douglas County Teacher of the Year. Recognition of all school level candidates will and the announcement of the Douglas County Teacher of the Year be held on Thursday, October 1 at Central Baptist Church. The reception will begin at 4:30 p.m. and the public is invited to attend. 

The school level teachers of the year are as follows: Natalie Young, Alexander High School; Julie King, Annette Winn Elementary School; Heather Walker, Arbor Station Elementary School; Nadra Hamilton, Beulah Elementary School; Matthew Nauman, Bill Arp Elementary School; Pam Huey, Bright Star Elementary School; Kimberley Haile, Burnett Elementary School; Heather Wilkie, Chapel Hill Elementary School; Sandy Smith, Chapel Hill High School; Carrin Daniels, Chapel Hill Middle School; Pamela Corley, Chestnut Log Middle School; Nick Epstein, Dorsett Shoals Elementary School; Grant Fossum, Douglas County High School; Nicole Smith-Hall, Eastside Elementary School; Radiance Lewis, Factory Shoals Elementary School; Alisa Allen, Factory Shoals Middle School; Adrienne Griffin, Fairplay Middle School; Meghan Rathel, Holly Springs Elementary School; Ngoc Le, Lithia Springs Elementary School; Robin Simmons, Lithia Springs High School; Cynthia Grantham, Mason Creek Elementary School; Kim Scasny, Mason Creek Middle School; Stephanie Alvers, Mirror Lake Elementary School; Chris Watts, Mt. Carmel Elementary School; Shalanda Watts New Manchester Elementary School; Casey Bethel, New Manchester High School; Jami Brooks, North Douglas Elementary School; Michelle Carney, Douglas County Performance Learning Center; Shelley Smith, South Douglas Elementary School; Shemeria Calxton, Stewart Middle School; Amanda Kirk, Sweetwater Elementary School; April Olorunfemi, Turner Middle School; Tabitha Antonovich, Winston Elementary School; and Tommy Thorne, Yeager Middle School.

Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES