skip to main content
District Links


Summary of Board of Education Meeting on February 6, 2012 back button

A summary of the February 6, 2012 Board of Education meeting follows.

Superintendent’s Spotlight: Jordan Hicks, and Curtis Brubaker, Boy Scout Troop 62, led the Pledge of Allegiance. They are working on obtaining the rank of Eagle Scout. During the month of February, Career and Technical Education Month, PTA Founders Day, and National School Counseling Week will be celebrated. Ms. Ixel Perez, DECA President and senior at New Manchester High School, read the Career and Technical Education Month Proclamation. Ms. Florence Osei, Douglas County College and Career Institute student, also came forward and was recognized. Dr. Omar Wray, Counselor at Yeager Middle School, read the National School Counseling Week Proclamation. Mr. Tyler Barr, Douglas County PTA Council President, read the PTA Founders Day Proclamation. Mr. Barr was also recognized as one of six inaugural winners of Georgia’s Parent Leadership Award. This award recognizes parents for their outstanding leadership in creating a foundation of support for student achievement and success.

Dr. Pritz recognized the following students for  being accepted into the 2012 Georgia Music Educators Association (GMEA) All-State Middle School Chorus: Christopher Daniel, Erika Padierna, Ashlyn Mahar, and Ryan Moore, Chapel Hill Middle School; and Israel Rochester, Factory Shoals Middle School. Mr. Ed Elliott, Chapel Hill Middle School, and Ms. Elizabeth Hill, Factory Shoals Middle School, were recognized as their choral directors. Ms. Cathy York, Food Service Manager at Dorsett Shoals Elementary School, was recognized for winning first place in the 2011-2012 “Healthy Living” Kroger Earning Plus Learning Program. Ms. Rocio Broyles, Spanish teacher at Alexander High School, was recognized for recently achieving National Board Certification.

The following schools were recently named Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools for 2011-2012: Annette Winn Elementary, Burnett Elementary, Lithia Springs Elementary and North Douglas Elementary.  Six Douglas County Schools were named 2010-2011 winners of Georgia's Single Statewide Accountability System (SSAS) awards. Awards were recently presented to schools based on their performance on state curriculum exams and Adequate Yearly Progress status. The two schools who received recognition in the Highest Performance category are: Mirror Lake Elementary received a Silver Award and South Douglas Elementary School received a Bronze Award. The four schools recognized in the Greatest Gains category are: Winston Elementary School received a Platinum Award; Factory Shoals Elementary School received a Silver Award; and Bright Star and Eastside Elementary Schools each received a Bronze Award.

Dr. Pritz stated that during this time of year when extra measures are taken to celebrate the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King and the strength and power of our country's diversity, he would like to introduce the school district's newly formed Diversity Committee. The mission of the committee is to make recommendations regarding policies and practices that will further enhance the diversity and inclusiveness of the school system. Along with Dr. Pritz, members of the Diversity Committee were recognized as follows: Dr. Suvess Ricks, Associate Superintendent of Student Support and Services; Ruby Byers, Douglas County College and Career Institute; Kwame Carr, Turner Middle School; Jose Cuellar, Alexander High School; Dr. Donita Cullen, Performance Learning Center; Dolores Heramb, Central Office; Dale McGill, Bright Star Elementary School; Sara Ray, Douglas County Chamber of Commerce; Dr. Tim Scott, Douglas County High School; Dr. Hope Udombon, University of West Georgia; Pedro Villatoro, Douglas County High School; Ronniece Williams, Mason Creek Elementary School; and Milton Whatley, Central Office.

Unfinished Business: Ms. Kay Turner, Chief Financial Officer, provided an update on bond refinancing. There will be a Special Called Board Meeting on February 16 at 5:00 p.m. for the approval of refunding of bonds. The Request for Proposal for Advertising/Sponsorship Program Services was discussed and a presentation will be done at a future Board Meeting by Education Funding Partners. 

New Business: Special Called Board Meetings were set for the following dates: March 5, 2012 at 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.  - Board Preparation for SACS Reaccreditation; March 17, 2012 at 8:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. - Board Budget and Preparation for SACS Reaccreditation Visit; and March 28, 2012 at 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. - SACS Reaccreditation Visiting Team Report to Board.

Consent Agenda: Personnel: Certified and classified personnel were approved.

Discussion Agenda:
Student Achievement and Leadership: Information on the renewal of E20/20 was presented. Operations: The following items were presented for discussion: 1) Paging system for four schools; and 2) Cisco IP Phones for four schools. Student Support and Services: The Georgia Department of Education requires that all grantees obtain external evaluation services for each grant. Information was presented on the 21st Century Community Learning Center Grant Evaluation Fee.

Action Agenda: Finance: The December 2011 Statement of Operations, SPLOST Report and Capital Projects Report were approved. Operations: Approval was granted to change the name of Mt. Vernon Elementary School to Factory Shoals Elementary School.

Information Only: The following item was presented for information only: Over-Night/Out of State Field Trips.

Present were Board Members Janet Kelley, District III, Chair; Jeff Morris, District V, Vice Chairman; D.T. Jackson, District II; and Dr. Sam Haskell, District IV. Also present were Superintendent Dr. Gordon Pritz; Associate Superintendent of Student Achievement and Leadership Dr. Catherine Magouyrk; Associate Superintendent of Student Support and Services Dr. Suvess Ricks; Chief Financial Officer Kay Turner; Chief Operating Officer Dudley Spruill; Director of Human Resources Dr. Michelle Ruble; Community Relations Director Karen Stroud; and Secretary to the Superintendent Melanie Nicholson.

2012 Voting Sessions of the Douglas County Board of Education:
Special Called Board Meeting on February 16, 2012 at 5:00 p.m. - Refunding of Bonds
Regular Board Meeting on February 27, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.  
Special Called Board Meeting on March 5, 2012 at 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.- Board      Preparation for SACS Reaccreditation Visit
Regular Board Meeting on March 5, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.  
Special Called Board Meeting on March 17, 2012 at 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.- Board Budget Preparation and SACS Reaccreditation Visit
Regular Board Meeting on March 19, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.  
Special Called Board Meeting on March 28, 2012 at 3:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.- SACS Reaccreditation Visiting Team Report

All board meetings of each month will be a regular voting session. Board meetings are called to order at 6:00 p.m., then move immediately into executive session. At 7:00 p.m., the public meeting is reconvened.


Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES