skip to main content
District Links


« Back to news list
New Principals Announced

Eight schools in Douglas County will welcome new principals when school resumes in August.

At the elementary level, Dr. Sherritta Abell will take the reigns as principal of Annette Winn Elementary. Dr. Abell has served as assistant principal at Arbor Station Elementary and Turner Middle School and most recently at North Douglas Elementary for the 2015-2016 school year. Dr. Abell began her career in education in 1996.

Melanie Manley will move to Holly Springs Elementary, replacing retired principal Sheila Miller. Ms. Manley began her teaching career with Douglas County in 1997 and served as principal of Annette Winn Elementary for the past five years. She was assistant principal at Eastside Elementary and taught in other Douglas County elementary schools prior to becoming an administrator.

Mirror Lake Elementary Principal Susan Calderara will move to Beulah Elementary. Ms. Calderara was principal at Mirror Lake for four years after serving five years as assistant principal at Winston Elementary. She previously taught and held positions in Cobb County elementary schools.

Tara L. Cowins, assistant principal at Factory Shoals Elementary since 2009, was appointed principal at Factory Shoals Elementary. Prior to Factory Shoals, she was assistant principal at Sweetwater Elementary and was twice named Teacher of the Year in other counties. Ms. Cowins has played a leadership role for the student support team, early intervention, discipline, Title I, and testing. She will replace Tommy Shadinger who retired June 10.

Chandell Johnson has served as assistant principal at Mirror Lake Elementary since 2006 and will move into the principal position for the new school year. Ms. Johnson previously taught at South Douglas Elementary and Douglas County Head Start.

Stefanie Stinchcomb was appointed principal of Yeager Middle. Ms. Stinchcomb previously served as assistant principal at Chapel Hill High School and Yeager. She served two months as interim principal at Yeager during the 2015-2016 school year. Previous principal Dr. Fred Ervin will retire effective September, 2016.

The Performance Learning Center (PLC) and Douglas County Virtual Academy will be guided by Dr. Stefanie Cosper, principal of Beulah Elementary for the past two years. Dr. Cosper was principal and assistant principal of Holly Springs Elementary from 2004-2014 during which time Holly Springs was named a School of Excellence for Academic Achievement. Former principal of the PLC, Dr. Donita Cullen, has been appointed assistant principal at Douglas County High School.

Marco Holland was appointed principal at New Manchester High School. Mr. Holland comes to Douglas County from Atlanta Public Schools where he served as a high school principal 2015-2016. Mr. Holland also has administrative experience in middle and high schools in Fulton County, Carroll County, and Carrollton City. Connie Craft, who served as principal at New Manchester since the school opened in 2011, will retire effective June 30, 2016.

In addition to Dr. Donita Cullen, other new assistant principals and their schools are: André Touchard, North Douglas Elementary; Kelly Witt, Bill Arp Elementary; Lisa Huey, Bright Star Elementary; Lisa Golden, Lithia Springs Elementary; Thomas Thorne, Yeager Middle; and Michael Hopping, New Manchester High School.

Assistant principals changing schools are: Minda Trexler, Factory Shoals Elementary; Emily Felton, Sweetwater Elementary; Michael Angresano, Mirror Lake Elementary; April Gaines, Mason Creek Elementary; and Angela Holley, Factory Shoals Middle School.


School Supplies
Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES