skip to main content
District Links


« Back to news list
2012-2013 Teachers of the Year Named

News Image

A teacher from each of Douglas County’s 33 schools has been selected to be honored as their school’s 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year. Each school selected a teacher to honor who is extremely dedicated, knowledgeable, and planning to continue in active teaching status in Douglas County. A workshop to help school candidates move forward in the process was held on May 23. Speakers were Dr. Gordon Pritz, Superintendent; Jeff Morris, Vice Chair of the Board of Education; Jaslyn Dukes, 2011-2012 Douglas County Teacher of the Year, and Karen Stroud, Douglas County School System Community Relations Director.

Each teacher’s county level application will be read and scored by a selection committee. The top eight candidates (two each from the middle and high school level and four from the elementary school level) will be observed teaching in their classroom. The selection committee will interview the eight candidates and name a finalist for each area – Elementary, Middle and High School Teacher of the Year – as well as the overall Douglas County Teacher of the Year.

Recognition of all school level candidates, level honorees and announcement of the Douglas County Teacher of the Year will be October 4, at First Baptist Church of Douglasville. The reception will begin at 4:30 p.m. and the public is invited to attend.  

The school level teachers of the year are as follows: Ivy Cann, Alexander High School; Patty Moody, Annette Winn Elementary School; Antoinette DeLoach, Arbor Station Elementary School; Linsey Strickland, Beulah Elementary School; Amy Bray, Bill Arp Elementary School; Julie LeFils, Bright Star Elementary School; Kendra Rushin, Burnett Elementary School; Nikki Jones, Chapel Hill Elementary School; Connie Highnote, Chapel Hill High School; Cindy Allen, Chapel Hill Middle School; Princess Wade, Chestnut Log Middle School; Katherine Russ, Dorsett Shoals Elementary School; Casey Hall, Douglas County High School; Latita Kelley, Eastside Elementary School; Janis McCalister, Factory Shoals Elementary School; Kathleen Gilreath, Factory Shoals Middle School; Tara Campbell, Fairplay Middle School; Karen Timms, Holly Springs Elementary School; Cory Bell, Lithia Springs Elementary School; Douglas McConnell, Lithia Springs High School; Elizabeth Landers, Mason Creek Elementary School; Clayton Kelley, Mason Creek Middle School; Elizabeth Shadix, Mirror Lake Elementary School; Brooke Byrd, Mt. Carmel Elementary School; Shellie Grant, New Manchester Elementary School; Letracia McCray, New Manchester High School; Anitra Turner, North Douglas Elementary School; Melissa Boyd, South Douglas Elementary School; Kelli Rowsey, Stewart Middle School; Christina Payne, Sweetwater Elementary School; Desieu Tabue, Turner Middle School; Michelle Hill, Winston Elementary School; and Monet Wagstaff-Burns, Yeager Middle School.


Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES